Tell me your story.....

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by ecteach, Nov 28, 2014.

1. ecteach

ecteach Devotee

Nov 28, 2014

How did you choose special education?
    My story-I was in college for a totally different major. My aunt was a secretary at a group home. I decided to work there one summer so I didn't have to work at Wendy's. After that summer I changed my major to elementary ed with a minor in special ed (the only option). I worked at the group home for 3 years before I graduated. If I never worked there I know for a fact my life would have ended up a lot different.

I am always interested in hearing other stories.

3. hatima

hatima Devotee

Nov 28, 2014

I always wanted to be a teacher. School was fun for me. I loved reading and homework. Yes. I'm that geek that LOVED homework. I struggled with math. I had a fifth grade teacher who told the class (after finding out all the class received some sort of federal assistance), "Your parents are all worthless lazy scabs on society. The most any of you can hope to see is the inside of a 4 by 6 cell!" I knew I had to prove her wrong. In fifth grade I vowed to never be as vile as that woman. My parents worked seven days a week and worked hard. I know teachers can scar children or help them. I want to help them. I still loved school after this teacher. I couldn't wait to prove her wrong.