Tell me about 5th grade

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by laf10, Jan 23, 2016.

1. laf10

laf10 Rookie

Jan 23, 2016

I'm a high school sped teacher (resource English). I taught self contained high school before my current job, but there is most likely going to be a 4th and 5th grade resource (pull out) job next year and I'm really thinking about switching, but I have NO experience with any students other than high school, so tell me what 5th graders are like, specifically if you have students with (resource level) special needs. My biggest complaint about my high schools is apathy. There is very rarely any sign of enthusiasm about anything. Ever. Do 5th graders still get excited about learning? Are they hitting hormonal/attitude stages yet or does that come later in middle school? I think I'd really like this age, but I'd love to hear from teachers that work with them every day!

3. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Jan 23, 2016