Technology...Ugghhhh!!!!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sundrop, Aug 28, 2008.

1. sundrop

sundrop Cohort

Aug 28, 2008

I am fed up with technology right now and that's not good since I am a computer teacher!!! I am really fed up with homeroom teachers who seem to see my job as unimportant. I feel as though I will never be able to crack through the hardened exterior of these teachers who are bound and determined not to use technology with their students. I have been trying for the last 5 years to show them cool sites, things to do with the digital cameras, ppt shows that they can use to teach different subjects. The principal is also trying to encourage the teachers to realize that they are teaching children in a digital age and the way we teach must reflect that. One of my co-workers actually questioned whether using technology really involves "using any thinking skills because all you have to know is which button to press." Yet, when their classroom computer (the one they never let the students touch) isn't working they are right on my doorstep complaining because they can't check their email.

How do I (Can I) get through to these teachers without constantly nagging them and without further irritating them? Should I even bother to try? Ugghhh!!!

3. dbelmo

dbelmo Rookie

Aug 28, 2008

Suggest to the Principal to have copies of the The World Is Flat -- Or have a presentation with the statistics from the book.

We can't fight tech. we have to use it!!! to keep the attention of our audience -the students!!!!

dbelmo

**** Maybe have a contest for the lesson that uses tech. best.--- you can give away a jumpjive!! or if there is extra money available (I know I am dreaming) get an ipod donated and show the teachers how to make flashcards using the picture format!!!

Last edited: Aug 28, 2008
  4. brigidy

brigidy Comrade

Aug 28, 2008