Technology questions

Discussion in 'ESL/ELL' started by runsw/scissors, May 29, 2014.

1. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

May 29, 2014

The district I am joining also is doing strategic planning for the use of iPads by ELL teachers at the elementary level. Right now it is in the piloting(?) stage. The district is asking for teachers who are willing to use iPads in their daily lessons to please volunteer. The requirements would be to keep data, communicate with other ELL teachers in the district, utilize various district technology resources, report findings, and become a touchpoint person in the future and lead professional development in this area.

Frankly, I'm not sure I want to do this as it is my first year as an ELL teacher. I think I'm going to have enough to keep myself busy just trying to figure out what I'm doing. At the same time, I wonder if volunteering to use the iPad is really such a big thing since I don't have any past experience and will be starting from scratch anyway. It also makes me look good to the district.

I just want to be certain I can commit to this all-in rather than have my efforts fizzle part way through the year because I'm in over my head. I've looked online and can't find much information about how interactive technology other than Smart Boards are used in ELL classrooms. Any ideas would be appreciated.:thanks:

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

May 30, 2014

I would probably not do it. As a new teacher you will have enough to deal with, and using iPads in the classroom will mean added time to plan to figure things lout and a LOT of time spent on gathering and analyzing data and collaborating. I'd leave it for the 2nd year.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

May 30, 2014

I think I would probably do it. You will be joining and learning with other first time users of the technology and can collaborate and help each other.