Technology in the classroom

Discussion in 'General Education' started by StudentTeacherofTucson, Feb 24, 2019.

?

Do you think students in fifth grade should have a phone?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

8 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. StudentTeacherofTucson

StudentTeacherofTucson New Member

Feb 24, 2019

Hi Everyone!
    I am currently in my fourth year at the University of Arizona and am completing a double major. My two majors are Elementary Education and Informational Science and E-Society. I am currently student teaching at a TUSD, in Arizona. I am in a fifth-grade class and thought it would be interesting to compare my fifth-grade experience with technology to my student's fifth-grade experience with technology.
    When I was in fifth grade, I didn't have a phone. None of my friends had a phone, and no one in my grade had a phone. I got my first phone was I went to middle school in grade 6. In sixth grade all my friends had phones and everyone in the school had a phone. The phones type range from flip phones, slide phones, blackberries, and iPhones. I had a slide phone, which was the norm among students in sixth grade. My phone didn't have data, and I could only text and call. Social media was not popular at this time. Most people, including myself, started to get social media in eighth and ninth grade
    I asked my 20 students different questions about phones and technology to get a better understanding of their opinion and to see how many of them use/have the technology.
    To complete my double degree, my final project for my methods research class is to gather information about how teachers feel about students having cellphones/social media in elementary school.
    Any information about students, ideas regarding technology in the classrooms and opinions about social media and cellphones are greatly appreciated.

Last edited: Feb 24, 2019
  3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Feb 24, 2019

Please edit to remove your name.

futuremathsprof likes this.