Tearing out Workbook pages versus Having them Already torn out!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Starista, May 11, 2006.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

May 11, 2006

Hello!!

I am a first grade teacher and am thinking about the upcoming school year ~

Next year my children will have a phonics workbook, a reading workbook, a handwriting workbook and a math workbook. While I am not the biggest fan of "worksheets" or "seatwork," I do like to use worksheets if they are meaningful.

Is there a REASON that the children should be responsible for tearing out the workbook pages themselves? (ie: "Ok class (I will have 28 students) please tear out page 157 from your workbook). Tearing out their own workbook pages creates some problems for me.
    1. It takes some children awhile to get the correct workbook out.
    2. It takes awhile to find the right page.
    3. We rip the page accidentally and then need tape.
    4. We accidentally turn to page 175 instead of 157.

BUT... is it a motor skill/responsibility thing?? Do the children NEED to pull out their own workbook pages?

I am sorry for the length of this post, but I would really appreciate any feedback and suggestions. Thank you so much! :)

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

May 11, 2006

I don't like the kids to pull out the pages anyway. They always seem to be missing the page I want them to do because it's on the back of something to be graded or whatever. I leave them in the workbooks so they don't get lost. Midway through, and at the end of, a unit, I have them make all their corrections.

4. k.contreras

k.contreras Companion

May 11, 2006