Teammate issues!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by eeyore330, Nov 2, 2015.

1. eeyore330

eeyore330 Rookie

Nov 2, 2015

I am a new teacher this year and I love everyone at my school! My teammate and I are pretty opposite, oldest teacher in the school and me, youngest teacher in the school. Our ideas are very different and I am trying to just keep myself afloat. We were doing okay, but now we are having problems with planning together and staying aligned, with new ideas. I am trying to work with her and now push too many of my ideas without listening to her, but she is not doing her part to try to work with me.

The situation just escalated because of Halloween but I worked with the 4th grade teachers on our costumes and I guess I didn't think to include her in the plans. I didn't do any of this on purpose, it really never crossed my mind because it seemed like she didn't want to participate anyways. I didn't work with them to spite her or anything like that, I was just included wiht them. I realized this because she commented on another teachers post about how nice it was that their team worked together. Now today, she basically ignored me all day. I have tried to work with her on our plans but I also feel,like sheis not putting in her share of the work, just choosing to use the same materials she has for years. I am choosing not t do that because I new need to teach using the new methods, which she should as well but...

I would go talk to my mentor, our resource teacher, but she and this teacher are very close and I think she will be on her side more. I am not sure what to do, andhow to handle the situation. I cannot go through the rest of the year like this, obviously.

How should I bring this up? Do you think it will ride out? I can talk with my principal if necessary, because she is awesome!! But I want to try to work it out first with everyone.

Please help!!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 2, 2015