Teaching Writing :-(

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by kstar03, Feb 10, 2009.

1. kstar03

kstar03 Companion

Feb 10, 2009

Hi all,

Working on persuasive essays currently with my 7th graders and I'm finding it hard to draw the line between helping students with their writing and actually writing the essay for them. I have students that I conference with that say "I don't know what else to write" or "What else can I add". When I model for them (tell them a couple of ideas I would use as a writer, I find them just copying my sentence instead of coming up with their own ideas. How much help do middle schoolers need when it comes to writing essays in class?

Thanks!

3. kstar03

kstar03 Companion

Feb 10, 2009

One more question: How many drafts are appropriate at this grade level?

4. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Feb 10, 2009

Show interest in what they have already composed and ask follow-up questions which could provide more material. Students will absolutely "steal" ideas you give them...it's kinda of cute because they'll often say, "Yeah, what you said!" :)

Again, just ask the students guiding questions and that should help.

5. Mrs. Q

Mrs. Q Cohort

Feb 10, 2009

I agree... I would ask questions and try to avoid giving examples that are relevant to the essay. Once you suggest something, it's hard for them NOT to use it.

IME with that age level, the students would do one rough draft - they would do peer editing, then go over it with the teacher, then use all their revisions to create their final draft. If you don't do peer editing, I would say one rough draft is plenty at this stage in the game. I'm not a certified English teacher though, so take my advice with a grain of salt. :)

6. ACWrites

ACWrites New Member

Feb 13, 2009