Teaching Tolerance Book Ideas

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Miz_Sanders, Feb 18, 2006.

1. Miz_Sanders

Miz_Sanders Rookie

Feb 18, 2006

I am a Full Intern in the 2nd grade. My coordinator is coming to evaluate me Feb 24th. I am doing my unit over teaching tolerance, since our Knight's Character Trait for this month is Tolerance. I have a few good ideas but I am really needing help coming up with good books to either read to the students or have them read alone. I have Picky Mrs. Pickle, How Zebra's Got Their Stripes, and The Crayon Box That Talked. Any other ideas on books, or any tolerance lessons you have taught would be GREATLY appreciated!!!! Thanks! :D

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Feb 18, 2006

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 18, 2006

Odd Velvet

Angel child, Dragon child

The New Kid at School

5. Miz_Sanders

Miz_Sanders Rookie

Feb 18, 2006

Thanks for the ideas you guys! :) I appreciate it!

6. Tambra44

Tambra44 Rookie

Feb 19, 2006

I taught a series of lessons about diversity (mental and physical exceptionalities) there are so many books out there here are a few I used to get my students to understand what it feels like to have a disability:
    Shelly the Hyperactive turtle- then the students had to do activities like jumping up and down while trying to string beads
    A very Special Critter-They got to try out wheelchairs
    Wemberly Worried
    What's Wrong With Timmy (Does say something about God in it so you may need to do some editing depending on your school)

I have a list of others but I need to do some searching in my files for it. I don't know if this is even what you are looking for. Sometimes we focus on other kinds of tolerance and forget to discuss individuals with disabilities. Just a thought. I hope this helped! Good Luck!

7. Miz_Sanders

Miz_Sanders Rookie

Feb 19, 2006