Teaching the same prep 4 times

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teacherguy111, Feb 6, 2015.

1. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Feb 6, 2015

Just found out I am teaching the same class 4 times starting next week. I am really excited because this will be the first time that I have only had to prep for one class.

How many preps do you guys have? Does it get boring doing the same class that many times?

3. Koriemo

Koriemo Comrade

Feb 6, 2015

Wow that sounds great! How do you only teach 4 classes a day? How many periods are in your school day?

I teach 3 preps, and it's my first year teaching at this school, so it can be hard. Most teachers at my school have 3-5 preps. Last year I taught for a semester and had 4 classes of the same. They were all in a row, all morning. In the afternoon, I had one section of creative writing, which was a fun class to teach.

4. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Feb 6, 2015

We have 4 periods a day at my school. They are 1 hour and 15 minutes long. We also have an Advisory class.. this is like homeroom but on steroids. They get a grade for it and you have to do in class service hours, service learning projects, summer reading. We also do 'design challenges' during this time. We have this schedule because classes are only 1 semester long. We use the mastery system, meaning that students typically have to get a 90% or more to master or pass a class. This is training for the high school where students can finish high school coursework in 2 years and then go on to university early and get 2 years for free.

I am pumped because this cuts my planning in half pretty much.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 6, 2015

This year I have two preps; I usually have three but have had as many as five.

I teach two sections of one class and four sections of another.

6. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Feb 6, 2015