Teaching P.E. on crutches

Discussion in 'General Education' started by amanda1990, Nov 27, 2021.

1. amanda1990

amanda1990 New Member

Nov 27, 2021

Can I teach P.E. on crutches? I have broken my foot. I wear an Aircast boot and am currently on crutches. I just recently started at this school and don't really want to take sick leave. Does anyone have any experience or tips regarding crutches and teaching?

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Nov 27, 2021

What are the grades that you teach? That may make a huge difference in the advice that you receive.

4. amanda1990

amanda1990 New Member

Nov 27, 2021

I'm a Middle School teacher.

5. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Nov 28, 2021

Are you teaching a new skill? If you aren't able to physically demonstrate it, find it on YouTube. My trainer is in another state and taught a lot of my exercises to me via YouTube. If possible, see if you can get student helpers who have a good kinesthetic sense to assist those who are figuring out how to get their bodies to complete the tasks you're asking them to learn.

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Nov 29, 2021