teaching math..

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by mandijyn, Jan 22, 2009.

1. mandijyn

mandijyn Rookie

Jan 22, 2009

I am wondering if anyone would like to share the challenges they are having teaching math. I am finishing my final year of college and I want to prepare myself for students issues concerning math.

3. deazy86

deazy86 Rookie

Jan 22, 2009

What level math are you teaching?

4. mandijyn

mandijyn Rookie

Feb 3, 2009

I will be teaching anywhere K-6- so math foundations

5. Lives4Math

Lives4Math Comrade

Feb 3, 2009

This is my first year teaching 6th grade math, but I taught 2 years of 5th grade and one of Kindergarten (all subjects for those grades). I have found the same struggles in 5th grade and 6th grade....WORD PROBLEMS! The students have been taught how to solve a problem when they are learning that certain skill but have not learned how to "think for themselves" when given a problem to figure out what they need to do to solve it. My 6th graders are struggling to figure out what to do when I give them a basic problem of "so and so has 32 animals cards. 10 of the cards are mammals and 15 cards are reptiles. The rest are birds. How many bird cards does so and so have?" They just look at me like I have 3 heads and say "I don't get it".

6. MrsTeacher2Be

MrsTeacher2Be Companion

Feb 7, 2009