Teaching math with a mathematics disorder

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by crazycatlady80, Apr 29, 2015.

1. crazycatlady80

crazycatlady80 Rookie

Apr 29, 2015

As I mentioned in previous posts, I'm enrolling in a Special Education Internship Program at a local university in the Los Angeles area. Right now, I'm completing the field service requirement, which is required as part of the application process. The main reason why I want to teach special education is that I was a special ed student myself. For better and for worse, it had an extreme impact on me and I want to give back. At the time, I had a variety of issues, which I still have, but adapted after a lot of hard work. The only problem that I still have, at least according to my last assessment done three years ago, is a "mathematics disorder." My reading, verbal, and writing skills were in the 90 percentile, but math (and skills that usually go along with it) were extremely low, some scores were even in the single digits.

Luckily, I've found ways to adapt. I am very good with a calculator and never do my own taxes. :) However, I am EXTREMELY nervous about teaching the subject. I feel like the blind leading the blind. The teacher that is supervising my field service requirement (my own elementary special education teacher who has remained a good friend all these years) says that I will learn more as a I teach and not to worry. She showed me Touch Math, which I think is pure genius. Still, I froze when a kid struggled with 13-9. I just didn't know the answer. I got out the blocks and answered it that way. It worked. Any other suggestions?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 29, 2015

Not being able to do math is a huge problem for a teacher--we do math all the time. How many copies do I need if I'm printing something four to a page and I have 247 students? What numbers should I count off by if I want my class of 39 to be in groups of 4?