Teaching Math-What to teach

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by nance, Dec 1, 2002.

1. nance

nance Rookie

Dec 1, 2002

Hello everyone. I am a special ed teacher in an elementary school and work with LD students, some with emotional problems. I teach 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders (whose skill levels are 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and some 5th). My problem is that I have been asked to use the regular education curriculum textbooks with these students. So I am using the teacher's basal, etc. to plan lessons. This is my first year at this particular school teaching only math. My question is this. How do I decide what is important to teach my students. We are working at a lot slower pace (naturally) than the regular ed. students. I cover about 2 lessons a week as it takes about 2 days to cover the lessons (and I'm not sure that is enough time!) I have been teaching spec. ed for 6 years now and still feel green at it. (Life time learner, ya know!). At times I think I should only be working on goal areas, but then we have state standard testing coming up in February and there is too much for them to handle with that (and unrealistic too). So if any of you could share what you do. I am also going to talk with my principal and the teacher who taught them math last year, but appreciate any of your thoughts as well.
    Thanks ~ Nance

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Dec 7, 2002