Teaching Math to High School Kids Without Basic Math Skills

Discussion in 'High School' started by substeacher, Nov 29, 2016.

1. substeacher

substeacher Rookie

Nov 29, 2016

I'm currently working in a math classroom, and many of the kids in one of my classes don't have basic math skills. One of my kids had to use a calculator to solve 7 minus 4. I'm new to teaching algebra in general, so I'd like to ask about any teaching strategies or tips that anyone could give me that would help me to better teach algebra to kids who are working at this level. I really want to do all I can for them, but I'm not sure how to go about doing it.

3. viola_x_wittrockiana

viola_x_wittrockiana Comrade

Nov 29, 2016

Lots of manipulatives, lots of real-world examples. I'd use problem sets dealing with scaling recipes or calculating sales. If they're into sports, tap into game stats. It's likely that they have little to no understanding of what numbers really are; a representation of actual or imagined quantified things. There are ways to strengthen their fundamentals while still including concepts from algebra, like those brain-teasers that use fruit or some picture to represent certain numbers. Go back to basic math facts if you have to. Games like "Around the World" or Contig can make that less painful.

substeacher likes this.
  4. substeacher

substeacher Rookie

Nov 30, 2016

Thanks!

5. Education4all

Education4all Rookie

Dec 15, 2016

7-x=3

6. TechnoMage

TechnoMage Companion

Feb 7, 2017