Teaching Linear Functions

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Ms.Holyoke, Dec 8, 2017.

1. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

Dec 8, 2017

Does anyone have any resources for teaching linear functions in 8th grade? If you do and would be willing to share, that would be great. :)

XWordHobbyist likes this.
  3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Dec 8, 2017

What kinds of resources are you looking for?

4. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

Dec 9, 2017

If anyone has taught it before and has handouts or activities that would be great. Or just general advice about teaching this topic would be helpful as well.

5. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Dec 9, 2017

I'm teaching it now, but it's one-on-one since I am a tutor so that makes a big difference. I'm really just using the text. Sorry. But, I can imagine that it would be really difficult for a class with students of varying needs and abilities. My student just needs lots and lots of repetition and she is limited to three hours of instruction in the subject a week.
    Actually, I just glanced at this website and it seems like a good place to get notes for handouts:
    http://virtualnerd.com/algebra-2/li...ns/parent-functions/what-is-a-linear-function .

XWordHobbyist likes this.
  6. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

7. rpan

rpan Cohort

Dec 9, 2017

There is a PBL activity that may be relevant to you since group work is a priority for your student teaching course. It encompasses linear equations and graphing but I think you could adapt it because the relationship between number of rubber bands and distance is somewhat linear. It’s on the teaching channel website and the activity is called bungee barbie

8. JimG

JimG Comrade

Dec 10, 2017

Don’t try to clump graphing linear equations and writing linear equations together; break it up as two mini-units with graphing first.