Teaching kids with autism/Aspergers

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by dedicated2, Aug 6, 2004.

1. dedicated2

dedicated2 Guest

Aug 6, 2004

:confused: Hello. I am new to posting on the forum and would like some advice from teachers who have taught students with autism. I have been teaching special education for 4 years and will have students with autism (one with Aspergers syndrome) for the first time. I will attend a seminar AFTER school starts but desperately need whatever advice someone is willing to give me as to how to setup/prepare/etc, a classroom for such students. They are first grade students. Open to all experienced comments. Blessings to you all this coming school year.

3. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Aug 7, 2004

I work as an assistant in a school for kids with ASD, so if you have specific questions, ask away and I'll see what I can do. Here are some ideas to get you started, a lot of them are probably things you do anyway. :)

Post a schedule, preferably one they can check and refer to. All of our kids have ones made from long cardboard pieces... green one side, with velcro pieces representing activities (class, then snack, then OT, then lunch, etc)... as one activity is finished, they move that piece to the red "finished" side... "lunch is finished, time for math" or whatever. Keeping routines the same each day, or preparing them with verbal/visual/written prompts when things are going to change (assembly, field trip, short day, etc) helps them to be independent and to remember what is happening.