teaching is not such a great career after all is said and done

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by traeh, Sep 25, 2007.

1. traeh

traeh Companion

Sep 25, 2007

I don't like teaching. It's too frustrating teaching kids who don't want to learn and kids who have no respect for others. I'm doing all this work for absolutely nothing in return but grief. I think that when I dreamed of becoming a teacher, I was thinking of an ideal world, where kids actually want to use their brains and learn something. I teach hsers and my kids either complain, just sit there and don't listen, or chat while instruction is taking place.

Then on top of all that, I have no life because planning/school consumes my life. I worked my ass off in college, and this is no release.

I'm a Spanish teacher... does anyone have any career-switch suggestions?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 25, 2007

Could it be a combination of first year and the wrong school?

By and large the HS kids I teach are good kids, anxious (or at least willing) to learn. I'm in a college prep Catholic HS.. the trade off in pay is well worth the change in attitudes.

If you're serious about changing careers and you're bilingual, I would imagine there should be lots of doors open or almost open. Why not go to monster.com and look under "bilingual" ??

4. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Sep 25, 2007

Do you have a mentor teacher?? Is there a teacher in your building that seems to "have it all together" that you can ask for some guidance??

I stongly believe that most college programs do not prepare you for all that teaching requires - other teachers do. Seek out help from those you work with before you totally give up.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 25, 2007