Teaching in San Diego

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Toast, Apr 19, 2014.

1. Toast

Toast Companion

Apr 19, 2014

My husband and I are considering a move. I am currently a teacher in Arizona and am in my 6th year. I am general ed K-8 certified. How tough is it to get a job in San Diego (or nearby suburbs)? Info would be appreciated. Thanks!

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Apr 20, 2014

It's not easy. Lots of colleges pumping out new teachers every year and I know of 2 districts on the verge of a strike (although 1 may have come to an agreement, but it was close).
    I moved away from SD because alt. ed (the county office) wasn't hiring for a while. Since then they did post a few positions but that doesn't mean I would have gotten it.

4. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Apr 21, 2014

San Diego is tough, as is most of California, but it looks like funding will be more favorable for next year.

That being said, San Diego has a lot of different school districts. The city has a large, unified K-12 district and then most outlying cities or areas have their own. I think the previous poster was talking about Sweetwater or Chula Vista which are in south county.

Let us know if you need more info. Good luck!

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Apr 21, 2014

Yes, one was Sweetwater, and I think they came to an agreement. The other is San Ysidro. I only know about these because my friends works for San Ysidro. I think SD can be tough, it really depends on the qualifications and experience of anyone that's applying.
    As far as I know San Diego Unified hasn't been majorly hiring for quite a while. One year they laid off hundreds of teachers, they weren't even hiring subs after that because they wanted to give any opportunities for those teachers.
    But yes, there are many outlying cities around it - the best thing to do is go on edjoin. org and check out the opportunities so far.

6. underthesun

underthesun Rookie

Apr 21, 2014