Teaching in Juvenile Detention Facility

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by IdahoSpEdTeach, Jul 22, 2014.

1. IdahoSpEdTeach

IdahoSpEdTeach Rookie

Jul 22, 2014

Hi folks,

I teach in a small town in Idaho and have recently been relocated/moved to a juvenile detention facility. The school I had been teaching at for the prior 9 years split and there wasn't a big enough case load (I'm Special Education) to support two of us resource room teachers. So, I got moved. :(

Here's the deal: I'm moving from 3rd/4th resource room to secondary level (9th-12th) grade ELA in a juvenile detention facility which contracts with our school district for educational services.

I am a mom to 6 kids (ages 13-26), so in theory I understand older kids. However, my 22 years of teaching experience has been in elementary schools. I recently (2011) got my Master's degree in special ed, so my certification is K-12 now.

My students are going to be all different levels. It's credit remediation mostly since most kids are significantly behind their same grade peers. I'm going to be teaching English/Language Arts in three blocks per day. The kids work through packets, I'm told. They do reading, assignments and tests independently. I can get into my classroom next week sometime, and when I job shadowed for 1/2 a day it looked like a pretty chaotic environment.

Does anyone have experience in the juvenile detention arena? :help: I don't even know if I'm going to have instructional time, or if I'm going to just oversee individual packet work. I do know that there is a guard in the room with me. I don't have to deal with violent behavior. It's a live-in facility.

Any ideas, web sites, direction would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

3. vateacher300

vateacher300 Rookie

Jul 22, 2014