Teaching in "inner city" vs. "regular" schools

Discussion in 'General Education' started by frtrd, Nov 24, 2013.

1. frtrd

frtrd Rookie

Nov 24, 2013

I'm an aspiring high school teacher, and it's always been my dream to teach in a "high needs" school. In fact, that's why I chose to go into the profession -- for the social justice element.

However, I've been thinking lately about where I want to live after I get my certification. I really like my foresty trees, so my top choices are Oregon, Idaho, Montana, or perhaps Seattle. However, my problem now is that none of these places have many low-income schools.

Now I'm trying to decide whether to pursue my "social justice" dream and live in a place that I'm not as interested in (Chicago, for example), or live in my #1 place but (probably) not have the opportunity to teach in a low-income school.

Do you guys feel like teaching in a Title I/low income school it is a categorically different experience? Do you feel like teachers thee are "helping" students significantly more than they would be if they were teaching in a regular school?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Nov 24, 2013

Seattle surely has low-income, inner-city schools. You could even look into its suburbs and neighboring cities, particularly Tacoma.

Teaching in an inner-city, low-income, Title I (or whatever other label you want to give it) school is definitely a different experience. I would recommend observing in a few of these sorts of classrooms before deciding to work in one. I would further recommend making sure to observe in classrooms with effective teachers AND in classrooms with less-than-effective teachers. Effective teachers in these schools make it look easy. The other teachers will show you exactly how much extra work you'll have to do in order to "break even" compared to your suburban colleagues.

4. frtrd

frtrd Rookie

Nov 24, 2013

Interesting. I'll definitely look into Seattle then.