Teaching in Florida...worth the move?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Linda8416, Apr 29, 2018.

1. Linda8416

Linda8416 Rookie

Apr 29, 2018

Hi all!

I am currently a NYC general education teacher. My husband and I recently began to consider moving to Florida.

Any florida teacher on here that would provide more information on the expectations, pay, and way of life for teacher down in the south?

Our pay is OKAY but the cost of living is very high up here. Expectations are ridiculuous, but I love what I do, and wish to continue doing it in a much warmer state.

Any help?

Leaborb192 likes this.
  3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Apr 29, 2018

Palm Beach County is awful. Martin county to the north not really better and pay lower. I'd look on the west coast. There are quite a few members here from the westerly and central counties.

Joyful! likes this.
  4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Apr 29, 2018

Central Florida always has many jobs. The pay is not terrific, but the perks out way the negatives for me...local beaches, theme parks, pleasant weather (except for the middle of the summer!). I am a little biased because I have lived here for almost 40 years and would never go anywhere else.

5. Joyful!

Joyful! Habitué

Apr 29, 2018

Location, location, location.

Palm Beach County is very expensive as a place to live. The housing prices are very high, as well as insurance, and other living expenses. We had a friend move here from MI who has expressed time and again the difference in grocery prices from there to here. It is always unfavorable.

On a teacher's salary, it can be a challenge.

I've heard from others that Pinellas County is good, but that is always based on the opinion of others.

6. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Apr 29, 2018