Teaching in Alaska and other states

Discussion in 'General Education' started by oneteacher, Aug 13, 2015.

1. oneteacher

oneteacher Rookie

Aug 13, 2015

Hello,

I am a 2nd year teacher and am thinking of moving from my current state. I teach in Utah and really like the school I am at. However, my husband and I have been thinking of moving to a different state that pays a little better and puts more money into education. We've looked at Alaska, Montana, and Washington.

I have looked at a lot of websites that try to rate cities and states based on the salary and cost of living and other factors and none of them seem to agree on much. I was hoping I could get some advice or direction from all you teacher out there. In your experience, what states are the best for teachers?

My husband would like to start his own business, so my wage would need to support the family in the interim. That's why I am concerned about a decent wage. His business would be in large part online, so where we live shouldn't impact his business much.

Thanks so much,
    oneteacher

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Aug 13, 2015

I looked at teaching in Alaska (until we bought our house here) and was interested in what I saw. One thing you might want to consider is, if you decide to look at positions way into the interior, if the area has enough connectivity for your husband's online career. Conversely, you might also want to look at online teaching jobs in the state as well.

4. DressageLady

DressageLady Comrade

Aug 13, 2015

My friend, who just graduated and got her SPED credential, was hired in Alaska. She just left a week ago. She is in a roadless area, so the only way in or out is by air.