Teaching high school students to trace?

Discussion in 'Art Teachers' started by ograwk, Sep 9, 2012.

1. ograwk

ograwk Rookie

Sep 9, 2012

I have taken over an art position from a teacher who retired last year, and it's my first year teaching art. He had the students project images onto their paper so they could trace them. This just goes against my grain, but I'm wondering how many art teachers use this technique. Am I being unrealistic? I look forward to hearing what others have to say :)

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 9, 2012

What sorts of images? How advanced were the students?

4. Rbart

Rbart Companion

Sep 9, 2012

What are they tracing? What type of project? There are times in art lessons when tracing is appropriate (using students original artwork). Such as using a smaller sketch enlarging it using photocopier or projector and transferring their artwork to the final project. Tracing someones else's artwork or photo images, I am not sure I would let them do that or I would question what is the benefit of the tracing. What are the standards associated with this method? Students will be able to.......

5. ograwk

ograwk Rookie

Sep 9, 2012

They were tracing photos that they found on the internet. There are all different levels within the one class - some students have taken it before (the school does not offer art1, art2, etc.) I would have no problem with them tracing their own work, but that doesn't seem to be what they were doing. No standard addresses tracing. I really want to teach them how to draw - I am also planning on teaching them to use a grid for transferring. We have talked about copyright issues.

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 9, 2012

Well, I think back to how the camera obscura revolutionized (and facilitated) landscape: that involved something like tracing, no?