Teaching high school and preschool?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Taylor M, May 8, 2020.

1. Taylor M

Taylor M New Member

May 8, 2020

Hi everyone! I'm currently a sophomore in college and I have no idea if I'm in the right place to be asking this so I'm sorry if I'm not!

Anyways, I'm planning on becoming a teacher and I'm currently studying early childhood education. At my old high school, we had a preschool program that the high school students were a part of and it was a graded course for them - they learned how to run the classroom, got assigned lessons, and my teacher would teach a prerequisite child development course before they could take the class (she also had a FACS course to teach). It's what made me love teaching and being around younger kids.

My question for current teachers is, is this a common program at many high schools? I would love to eventually be able to teach both high school and preschool like this, it seems like such a dream to me, but I'm not sure if it's very uncommon.

Thank you!

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

May 8, 2020

I've taught in the three states. I've never seen a problem like that. I would think it would be extremely hard to find a position like that, and I certainly wouldn't plan my career around it.

4. Taylor M

Taylor M New Member

May 8, 2020

That's what I was a little afraid of, I know of a few high schools around my hometown that have programs like these, but it seems like there wouldn't be many of these positions available. Thanks!

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

May 9, 2020

I am familiar with the program you are talking about, here in NJ, but don't actually know how common it is throughout the state. I would agree with RainStorm that it might be very difficult to find such a position. Can you imagine a more traditional teaching situation that at least gets you a job in the state/district you are most interested in?

6. Taylor M

Taylor M New Member

May 9, 2020