Teaching from a wheelchair

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Icestein, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Icestein

Icestein Rookie

Nov 15, 2013

Hi everyone,

This is my first post to the site.

Recently, I was fired from my job as a medical physicist because of the inability to walk due to Multiple Sclerosis. As such, I need a more desk-based position.

I am considering going back into teaching (~2002, student teaching). My question for the group is: Is it feasible / possible to teach High School in a wheelchair? Does anyone have teachers in their facility teaching out of a wheelchair? I'm trying to get a feeling as to whether this is feasible or a pipe dream that I want to do.

FYI: I have a master's in physics and bachelor degrees in Math and Physics and have been teaching at the Community College level for 4 years+.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 15, 2013

Hi and welcome!!!

I certainly don't see why it would be an issue.

And that Math/Physics combo makes you a hot commodity.

We have no one on our faculty who is wheelchair bound, but that's not to say we won't have someone next month or next year. We do have a deaf teacher.

I think certain accomodations would have to be made. (For example, since you can't use elevators in a fire drill, your classrooms/labs would need to be on the ground floor. In many, many schools, that's a non issue.)

I certainly think the idea is worth exploring!

4. RadiantBerg

RadiantBerg Cohort

Nov 15, 2013

I certainly think it's possible!

You have, as Alice said, great credentials with math and physics. This gives you a lot of options.

I will just suggest that you work in a more suburban/nicer district---some may disagree with me, but I think it would be hard to control a very rowdy inner city class in a wheelchair so I think you should limit your obstacles by working somewhere where the kids really want to learn. That said, finding the right fit is certainly a great possibility!

5. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso