teaching French to 1-3 graders???

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by Riv, May 25, 2017.

1. Riv

Riv Rookie

May 25, 2017

Hi everyone,
    I will soon begin my teacher observation (in French) and eventually move into teaching the class as an internship. I have lots of experience teaching adults but NONE with children. Any pointers you can give on how to teach 1-3 graders in foreign language (French)? I realize now I can't take all the liberties I once did with adults as far as movies and articles...this must be much more simple but I am not sure where to turn for ideas on lesson plans.

Thanks!

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

May 25, 2017

Not a French teacher, but I worked in a French Immersion school for a long time. Think basics--colours, numbers, greetings, weather, calendar.

CherryOak likes this.
  4. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

May 25, 2017

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

May 25, 2017

"Guilty" as charged!

Riv, Leaborb192 and CherryOak like this.
  6. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

May 25, 2017

I agree - I don't teach in French Immersion, so we do intro to basic French in grades 1-3. We call it "exposure to French". I keep it super simple - when my grade 1s were lining up, I counted them in French. We stuck to colours, numbers, days of the week, some clothing items. Lots of gesturing and pointing.