Teaching Assistant, Subbing or Preschool?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Shiloh17, Apr 23, 2013.

1. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Apr 23, 2013

Hi all,

I will be graduating this May with a degree in Early Ed. I know having my own classroom is unrealistic. What do you suggest is best to begin my career...Teaching Assistant in a school district? Subbing? or Preschool? I need advice from those of you who have been in the same position!

Thank you so much

3. bridgetbordeaux

bridgetbordeaux Companion

Apr 23, 2013

I graduated 2 years ago and had been subbing for the district while a student. Since I didn't get a job, I subbed more. Then I got hired as a special ed para, but lost that job to budget cuts. This past year I have subbed almost every day at the same school including 2 maternity leaves. I think subbing gives you an idea of where you would like to work, and if you find a good school, then a para or teaching assistant job is a way to get your foot in the door. Good Luck

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 23, 2013

I don't think you need to immediately give up on the goal of getting a permanent, regular teacher position.

As for your back-up options, which ones can you afford to live on?

5. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Apr 23, 2013

Thanks for replying bridget :)

6. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Apr 23, 2013

So true. You're right I shouldn't...I can afford to live on any. What do you think is the best back-up option?

7. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Apr 23, 2013

I agree with Caesar - why is having your own classroom unrealistic? I graduated in December 2011. I then worked as a para - after school program and RSP. I got hired as a regular teacher in May for this school year. I'm in southern California, which is arguably one of the worst job markets in the country.