Teaching Aide/Assistant/Para OR District Wide Sub Position?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mbc, Jun 9, 2021 at 10:14 PM.

1. mbc

mbc New Member

Jun 9, 2021 at 10:14 PM

Hi!

I'm conflicted. I've been offered these two positions and I don't know which to choose. I enjoy working with kids, but I don't want to become a teacher. I'm a writer and am working on a novel right now, but of course that isn't going to be paying the bills just yet. Surprisingly, the sub position pays way more than the aide position. I would work every day for both positions and I would receive benefits.

My friends and family, of course are interested in the pay.

Obviously, the aide would be a consistent routine while the sub would be last minute and what not. The subbing would either be for maternity leave or for absent teachers.

Listen, I want something good. I want something that won't give me work to take home because that would be my writing time.

Please help!

3. Pi-R-Squared

Pi-R-Squared Connoisseur

Jun 10, 2021 at 3:14 PM

I would imagine the sub position would be more a part-time schedule based on days you want to work vs. the para position which is full-time? I don't understand the statement "I want something good."

4. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Jun 10, 2021 at 7:47 PM

If you are covering maternity leave positions, you will be working pretty hard. Day-to-day subbing is much less likely to require working beyond contract hours. The paras I work with are generally done for the day when they clock out.

otterpop likes this.
  5. Pi-R-Squared

Pi-R-Squared Connoisseur

Jun 11, 2021 at 12:12 PM

To be very blunt and honest, if you don't want to become a teacher, don't become a teacher,

miss-m likes this.
  6. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jun 11, 2021 at 1:02 PM

The aide position would be my choice.

Benefits, same job every day, and not technically the one in charge.