Teaching Abroad in the UK

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Miss Kirby, Jan 31, 2010.

1. Miss Kirby

Miss Kirby Fanatic

Jan 31, 2010

Okay, I knew there were thread about this before (I know I started some of them!) but I can't seen to get the search to work. So here we go again...

I have been thinking about teaching abroad in the UK for a few years now. First it was just a thought, but I never dreamed I could actually do it! Last summer I studied abroad in Ireland for a month, and I loved it, the time just flew by. I know a month is a lot less than a year, and it was easy because we were in a group and stayed together most of the time, but it got me thinking that maybe I could actually do this! It's the perfect time: I still live at home, so don't have to worry about leaving an apartment or house, I'm about to pay off my last car payment, no other financial issues, I'm single, I have a job but I *hopefully* will be able to take a leave of absence and have a job when I return.... Everything seems to be fitting together quite nicely!

I want to go to the UK because I'd be going by myself, they speak English, and it's not as different from the US such as say, Asia or Africa. I found a few different programs. I was looking into Time Plan, Impact Teaching, and Teach London, and so far I like Teach London the best. It's also part of other agencies, Synarbor and Global Education. Has anyone used any of these agencies or know someone who has? I am really excited about this but SO nervous and unsure.

3. Teacher_Lyn

Teacher_Lyn Companion

Jan 31, 2010

Hey Kirby -

That's great! I still live at home too, but unfortunately I have not used it to my advantage the way you have. BRAVA :biggrin:

Unfortunately, I don't know anyone who has used that particular service, though my girlfriend from High School taught in Japan for two years through a similar program.