Teaching ABC's

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by Mrs_Barrett, Jan 10, 2006.

1. Mrs_Barrett

Mrs_Barrett Cohort

Jan 10, 2006

I teach preschool special education. I have mostly 4 and 5 years old. They all are going to be going to our transitional kindergarten next year, or least some of them. The one's who won't go full time, will be 1/2 time my room and 1/2 time TK.

I just started teaching the alphabet and I was wondering if this is something that any of you teach too? Yesterday was our first day, and I am teaching the letter M this week. I know some of them won't comprehend what the letter M sounds like or be able to write it, but I'm hoping that some will be able to identify the letter and say the letter.

I was just wondering if anyone else has done this? I tend to set my objectives way too high, and this is my first year teaching preschool sped. I'm thinking that this might be too much for them.

Please help!

3. ABall

ABall Fanatic

Jan 10, 2006

I have used the alphabet people it works pretty good.

4. Mrs_Barrett

Mrs_Barrett Cohort

Jan 10, 2006

I used that when I was a little kid. Do you know if they still produce any of those materials nowadays?

I currently use Frog Street Press materials. Along with their music. I have some old material from when I student taught (that I made copies of). Where we make puppets and read a story and practice the sound of the letter.

I just didn't know if this was too hard for students who are special needs?!

5. Angela2006

Angela2006 Rookie

Jan 10, 2006

I am teaching pre-kindergarten and I use the letter people. My 4 & 5 year olds love the letter people. My set was given to me by the previous teacher but you could order some at this website. www.abramsandcompany

I have the huggables. The kids love to see and touch the letter people they are a part of the class now.

6. MomtoWyatt

MomtoWyatt Rookie

Jan 10, 2006