Teaching a sample lesson as a second interview, HELP!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Threnody, Oct 8, 2011.

1. Threnody

Threnody Rookie

Oct 8, 2011

Hello everyone! :)

I applied for a job as an 8th grade Language Arts teacher, and had my first interview on Wednesday. On Friday evening I got a call from the school inviting me to give a sample lesson to a class of my potential students on Monday. The interviewers, of course, will be observing.

I'm a bit nervous because I'm a recent college graduate without classroom experience, so I'm hoping that by placing my lesson plan here, some more experienced teachers could give me feedback. I'd be very grateful! ;)

Here's what I've got:

I'd begin the lesson with a quick introduction and a vocabulary activity. The vocabulary words and their definitions would be displayed on the board through the LCD projector, and the students would write them down and come up with a unique sentence for each. After that, I would ask a few students to share one of their sentences so that the students would have two examples sentences for each word.

These words would be taken from 'The Tell-Tale Heart' by Edgar Allen Poe, which we would read in class. One student would read a sentence out loud, followed by the student sitting behind him/her, so that each student will have had multiple turns by the story's end.

Following the reading, I would lead the class in a literary analysis exercise. I have a story frame worksheet that we would fill out together to guide the class discussion. It covers main character, setting, cause and effect, etc.

My back-up activity if I run out of time is to divide the class into groups or pairs to create storyboards, for which I have a template.

Does this sound like a reasonable sample lesson? How could I improve upon it? Should I scrap it altogether? All feedback will be appreciated! :D

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 8, 2011

Do you have time to read the whole story?