Teaching a new grade

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out Archives' started by AuburnTeach, Sep 24, 2006.

1. AuburnTeach

AuburnTeach Companion

Sep 24, 2006

I taught first graders for 12 years; last spring I was informed that I was being moved to second grade and could take my first graders with me to make for a smoother transition.

I feel like I'm starting over, and it's frustrating me. I took several classes and had training to work with emergent readers and writers. I read research, learned about best practice, became adept at scaffolding learning, and was confident that I while I'm far from perfect, I was a good teacher.

I didn't use the same materials year after year. I innovated, created, continued to learn and grow as an educator, and was excited about and proud of my job as an educator.

This year, with second grade, I still don't feel like we're in a routine. Another second grade teacher and I divided our kids according to ability level, and I work with the "lower level" children. I've been able to use the basal for whole group reading and teach guided reading groups, but I feel like I'm missing out on a vital part of "my kids'" educations by not being their primary reading teacher.

My schedule is disjointed. I miss the continuity and natural flow I had with my first grade schedule. I'm tied to finishing the reading themes at the same time as the other second grade teacher.

I don't know the curriculum well yet, so it's difficult to the curricular areas together. I feel like I'm flying by the seat of my pants rather than being organized and have a plan while being flexible enough to change a lesson when warranted.

I want to teach first graders again. I want to use the experience and training I have teaching emergent readers and writers. I want to differentiate math so students are learning the same concepts through their unique paths.