Teaching a mini lesson tomorrow! help appreciated!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ssteachernyc, Oct 3, 2011.

1. ssteachernyc

ssteachernyc New Member

Oct 3, 2011

Hi everyone,

I'm a newly certified teacher and have been applying for jobs this summer/fall. I have recently got a call to interview for a High School and have been asked to prepare a 10 minute mini lesson for an interview tomorrow on a topic of my choice. Although I went through a year of student teaching, presented lessons in front of my professors and a department chair I am extremely nervous/stressed! I can really use some feedback/suggestions to help ease my anxiety.

All mini lesson's I have experience with are meant to introduce the subject that my students will be focusing more on in groups (during the activity part of the lesson). However my mini lessons really consisted of a 10 minute lecture / asking "why" / critical thinking questions.

Here is a sample of my 10 minute mini lesson for tomorrow:

1) What is a Cold War?
    2) What is a world superpower?

While the committee acting as students answer those questions, I plan on writing my notes on the board (or should I prepare a powerpoint? although they did not specify what technology would be present). I feel I should be done with my notes in a maximum of 2-3 minutes, where I then begin my lecture. During the lecture I have two questions consisting of "Why did the USSR/US emerge as world superpowers?" & "What benefits would a country gain by having economic,political & military influence in the global community(then scaffolding answers). Afterward, I plan on explaining the students will be breaking into groups, analyzing the secondary source document, answering the questions and then we will go over them as a class. Then handing out copies of the document to the hiring committee, concluding my 10 minute mini lesson.