Teaching 4 & 5s With No Printables- Help

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by isabunny, Feb 18, 2011.

1. isabunny

isabunny Comrade

Feb 18, 2011

I have been on this sight many times over the last couple of months and appreciate all the ideas and information. I am a new Pre-K teacher. I was just hired (January) as a lead Pre-K teacher for those students that will be going to Kinder this year. I have three page lesson plans daily with daily information sheets for parents stating exactly what the students did that day, what they ate, if they napped, and a memorable moment from their day.

I bought many curriculum books that were recommended from many of you to help plan my lessons. I have been using them like crazy. I have mostly Kindergarten experience, so know what these kids need to learn before the beginning of the school year. I have few resources to use in my classroom. My problem is that I was told I may not use any printed type material in the classroom (not even for art projects). I had been printing images from the internet to use as collages (like all types of red things for a red collage). I have asked parents to bring in magazines, but don't have any yet. I also have done food groups pictures and made food groupings/graphing. All the printed material I have been using is very hands on/active materials. I just don't know how to come up with all that curriculum without ever using any printable material. Another example is an image I printed of a real human heart, so the kids could see what it looks like. I think most of us are visual learners, so I like to include visuals to many lessons. Many of the preschool curriculum guides use some type of printables (like puppets for The Little Red Hen or sorting Dinosaurs sheets).