Teaching 3rd next year-where do I start?!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by LMichele, Apr 13, 2014.

1. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Apr 13, 2014

I found out a few weeks ago that I will be moving into the classroom next year I am currently a push-in/pull-out reading intervention teacher, and have used an intervention program purchased by the school, so planning was always taken care of.

I am overwhelmed at where to begin with 3rd grade! I want to get started little by little so that I'm not completely overwhelmed over the summer & next year.

My question is-where can I start? We are purchasing a new math program & don't have the teacher's guides yet. (I'm hoping to have them by the end of the year) I have read through the SS program, but can't plan much until I see how much (or how little) time is given to SS in the schedule next year. Reading is primarily guided reading, and we will assess students at the beginning of the year.

I do have the standards for Math & ELA. Should I begin by making some centers for those subjects that will review 2nd grade material for the beginning of the year? I also have a bunch of books that I want to use for read alouds & mini lessons next year-should I begin with those by creating lessons based on the CC ELA standards?

Help! :dizzy:

3. mstnteacherlady

mstnteacherlady Cohort

Apr 13, 2014

Personally, I would likely begin with thinking about classroom management, routines, and procedures I would want to have in place to make my classroom run smoothly once all of the curriculum details come together. These are things that I know won't change when the curriculum is put in place. We always have changes to something (Reading block, interventions, schedule, a new way of doing something) when we go back in the fall, but I know my classroom management plan is specific for my room and will help me and my students be successful in the classroom.