Teachers with disabilities

Discussion in 'General Education' started by supertaz93, Oct 2, 2008.

1. supertaz93

supertaz93 Rookie

Oct 2, 2008

I am a teacher with a hearing disability that is really effecting my ability to teach. I was wondering if there are other teachers on here who have a disability and if they would be willing to share how they overcame their disability in the classroom. For me I have a hard time hearing students in my large classes. I also have trouble pinpointing where the sound is coming from because the sound bounces off the walls. I was at the point of throwing in the towel but my union rep has suggested getting a para in my room.

:thanks:

3. midwestteacher

midwestteacher Cohort

Oct 2, 2008

I know a vocational teacher that is a parapelegic and is in a wheelchair. I know this isn't really like your case, but his school has gone to great lengths to accomodate him in the classroom. He has lots of space to get around, he uses a SMARTboard and his chalk board is lower so he can reach it. He also uses an overhead a lot. I know this isn't like not being able to hear students well, but there are teachers out there with disabilities.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Oct 2, 2008

supertaz, have a hug. I can't offer you much else. But you're by no means the only one on A to Z with a hearing disability: there's cutNglue for sure, and several others who will doubtless check in and have some good counsel for you.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 2, 2008

CutNglue is a wonderful resource for you.

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Oct 2, 2008

cutNglue is a wonderful resource, full stop. But the same can be said of a number of others on A to Z.

7. supertaz93

supertaz93 Rookie

Oct 2, 2008

Thanks, I hope to hear from cutNglue.

8. Annie227

Annie227 Companion

Oct 2, 2008