Teachers who cannot maintain Order, will be let go?

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by Bio612, Oct 14, 2008.

1. Bio612

Bio612 Rookie

Oct 14, 2008

I just started an accelerated course in Teacher Certification. Basically, anyone with a BS or BA Degree, can become a cert. teacher (if you have the right amt of credits)

Anyhow, I was speaking with a teacher, and he stated that most teachers are asked NOT to return to the school, MAINLY due to the fact that they simply could not control their students.

Does this happen a lot? Any input, because to be honest...I have very little experience with kids when it comes to this.

I am just someone who is going through a career change from the workforce (due to lack of work) in hopes to find a more secure position that's high in demand (teaching).

And this Accelerated program apparently is meant for just anyone (with a BS or BA). But if I don't have such experience with children...this could be a problem?

Do you think only a year, to get used to the job, is not long?

3. synapse

synapse Comrade

Oct 14, 2008

Why do you want to become a teacher?

If you "don't have such experience with children," how certain are you of your answer?

If it is simply to find a secure job, an accelerated program will put you in a classroom fast.

If you are genuinely interested in children, the art and science of teaching and learning, and a career change that will be long term, my opinion is that an accelerated program will place you in a disadvantageous position.

Teaching is hard work. It takes intense training and a lot of practice to do well. I would look for a program that provides actual experiences with children as you prepare to become a certified teacher. That way you will be able to assess whether or not this is for you.