TEACHERS IN HOSPITALS, HELP!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by jgmed, Feb 10, 2011.

1. jgmed

jgmed New Member

Feb 10, 2011

Hello All!

I am a current graduate student finishing my M.Ed in Moderate Disabilities. I have been doing research but am finding it very difficult on how to go about obtaining a position in a hospital setting. I am interested in working with children with illnesses that are hospitalized for an extended amount of time, specifically in oncology. I do not know if you are employed through a hospital or a private company? I surprisingly can not find much information about it online. I only found one job opening for such a position in Montana, which is very far from my home in Boston. Does anyone know anything about teaching to children in hospitals????? Thank you very much!

J. G.

3. Blue

Blue Aficionado

Feb 10, 2011

In my area, a teacher is sent from the school. So, you might check out school sites. When my DD was ill, a regular teacher came out after she taught all day.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 10, 2011

Call the Children's hospitals in your area. Some have an educational coordinator.

5. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Feb 10, 2011

I have seen jobs like these posted on district websites.

6. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Feb 10, 2011

I used to be a home/hospital teacher.

I was a full-time teacher with the district. The child must be assigned to homebound instruction by a physician. It cannot be a decision of the parent.

For students who were on long-term instruction (more than one grading period), I was the sole teacher. I made the lessons, graded papers, and assigned grades. For students on short-term instruction, I met with the teacher. The teacher gave me work, graded papers, and assigned grades. I just served as the instructor.

In most cases I did instruction in the student's home. Often the students who were hospitalized were too ill to complete the classwork.

7. CandorWit

CandorWit Rookie

Feb 10, 2011