Teachers (Current or Pre-Service) with Learning Disabilities?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by nycteacher82, Jan 21, 2014.

1. nycteacher82

nycteacher82 New Member

Jan 21, 2014

I am currently in my last semester of a M.A. Program in NYC. I start my student teaching February 3rd. I am currently in the process of taking all the new exams the state of NY is requiring: ALST, EAS, and CST Social Studies. I took the ALST and I did a horrible job. I felt that the reading comprehensive and write exam was very hard and I did not use my time wisely (my fault, I know). I have the EAS exam this Friday (01.24) and CST next Friday. I am not prepared for either (my fault, I know). My problem is that I struggle with taking exams and since I started the MA program, I realized that I have had a learning disability all the years. It is quite obvious that I had a clue, but now it is catching up with me. I have struggled throughout my entire program and "barely" made it so far. Now more than ever, I feel inept to teach middle school and high school Social Studies. I feel that my program has not properly prepared me. I feel that my knowledge of US and World History is waning, while my knowledge of Russian, Jewish, Middle Eastern, and Nazi Germany has increased due to the pointless graduate level history classes I have had to take. I have only been in front of a classroom of students once and I believe I failed miserably. My students observations where total **** shows as I watched students terrorize their teachers. I have become more depressed, helpless, and anxious and I am not sure what to do. I don't really have anything else I am good at doing. I want to be a good teacher, better than the teachers I had growing up and I want to help students like myself who "fall through the cracks".

There is so much more information I would like to add, but wanted some feedback.

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Jan 21, 2014

I'm a bit confused with your post.