Teacher with Cancer

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MissAbbeyMarie, Feb 12, 2012.

1. MissAbbeyMarie

MissAbbeyMarie Rookie

Feb 12, 2012

I am only a teacher intern at an elementary school this year; I am co-teaching fourth grade. I am only on this particular campus for about two hours every three days, so I don't have much time to do anything other than teach and prepare my lessons.
    Though occasionally, I have some time in between rotation to chat with the other fourth grade teachers and intern. This is where I need help. The fourth grade teacher next door to my cooperating teacher is a lovely woman, who I see for a few minutes every day and she ALWAYS makes me laugh. She is kind, bubbly, sweeter than pie and the most optimistic person I've ever met.
    Recently, this past week, she was diagnosed with breast cancer on her thirty-eighth birthday. This breaks my heart. Now I want to do something nice for her, but I don't know her very personally, so what would be too weird or overstepping?
    She has a few kids, she is very christian and has been teaching for years if any of that helps. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

3. Teaching Grace

Teaching Grace Connoisseur

Feb 12, 2012

My momwas recently diagnosed with lung cancer (Even though she never smoked) so I can understand to a very small degree the kind of shock that your friend must be feeling. I would suggest anything from as small as a "I'm thinking of you" card to a gift basket of her favorite things to spoil her a bit. When she begins chemo she will be extremely tired and sick. So help her to enjoy the time that she has now so that she is able to relax and rest before her treatments start.

4. 4dogmom

4dogmom Rookie

Feb 12, 2012