Teacher Salary Schedules

Discussion in 'General Education' started by markinca, Aug 1, 2013.

1. markinca

markinca Rookie

Aug 1, 2013

Hi, I had a bit of a newbie question that I can't seem to find the answer to on google.

I understand what BA only, BA+15, BA+30, MA, MA+30, etc mean on salary schedules, but what I don't understand is what exactly is counted in those units.

If I have a bachelors and my teaching credential, is that all counted under BA? Or do the units I've completed for the credential count as those '+' units? And if those credential units DO count as '+' units, then why is there even a 'BA only' column to begin with? I thought all teachers needed to have a credential?

Thanks!

3. curiouslystrong

curiouslystrong Companion

Aug 1, 2013

I think the '+' units are meant to designate graduate credit hours you've earned beyond your Bachelor's degree.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 1, 2013

The units toward credential don't count. In most cases, you'll have to have classes approved BEFORE taking them for credit on the salary guide, but this can vary by school district. Also 'what counts' varies by district/state. Also when starting in a new district ( which I'm thinking you might be OP...you spoke of having worked in 3 different schools when you posted in 2010), the new district might give you credit for your education level but not plus credits.

5. myKroom

myKroom Habitué

Aug 1, 2013

It's graduate hours beyond your BA. Each state is different in their licensure. In Iowa, my BA is in Elementary Education and within that BA is where I worked towards my 4 endorsement areas (Reading, Early Childhood, Early Childhood Sped, and Gen. Ed.).

The classes we can take to renew our license count as hours beyond if you pay for the graduate credit. I've had my +12 for the last three years. I'll move to +24 this fall because I'm working on my MA.

6. kab164

kab164 Companion

Aug 1, 2013