Teacher parents

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Miss_J, Oct 28, 2006.

1. Miss_J

Miss_J Habitué

Oct 28, 2006

I have a parent who is a kindergarten teacher at another district. THis is my first year in Kinder (I was in 5th last year) and she knows this. Every week, she sends me these passive-aggressive e-mails that seem to be questioning my procedures. I always answer them quickly and she seems ok with my responses. I am just not sure what to do to relive her obvious nervousness/distrust of me. I send home weekly newsletters and have a home-school folder. But, nothing seems to be enough. She e-mailed me about our Halloween party and wanted a minute by minute break down of the day!! None of my other parents are like this.
    Is there anything that you could recommend I do for her? Is this normal or am I messing up somewhere?

3. teachall

teachall Rookie

Oct 28, 2006

Hey! I had this problem last year. Is this student an only child? My was and the mother was a first year high school teacher in the same district. She would question my grading policy, and other things. I would say just continue to be positive and answer her questions. I would also put at the bottom of your replies that if she has any concerns to let you know. Maybe invite her to come and volunteer when she has time.

4. corps2005

corps2005 Cohort

Oct 29, 2006

If she has such a problem with you, then she should just take her child out. She needs to remember that she was once a first year teacher too. There is a way to give advice without seeming passive aggressive. Can you do some research to find out if she's a good teacher? Because you could use her as a source of information if she is, kind of like a mentor teacher. :D I like to pull information from whereever I can.

Other than that, I think you're handling it well and very politely.

5. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Oct 29, 2006