Teacher is always coming into my class while I'm subbing

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by MrsL74, Nov 6, 2019.

1. MrsL74

MrsL74 Rookie

Nov 6, 2019

Hi,
    I'm rather new to subbing, began in September, and I'm really enjoying it.
    I've been subbing about 4 days a week for TK-6th at 3 different schools. At one school there is a teacher that tends to find his way to my class even though I haven't subbed for his class yet. He's a 6th grade teacher and will somehow find his way over no matter the grade I'm at. He's always either making sure that particular class is behaving (known for behavior issues), asking a student a question, asking about my teachers directions and if I have any questions about it. I'm not sure it he's just odd, involved in all the classrooms, strangely helpful, noisy, or if I'm dealing with something else. I have noticed that several of the teachers call him over for help, so maybe he's been conditioned to being the "hero" for the day? Although I'm new to subbing, I'm not new to a work environment, I'm a 45 yo retired biologist.

With the other two schools I sub at, I never get visited any other teachers in the classroom.
    I'm always professional and keep the conversations to a minimal...honestly I'm super busy and he's disruptive to the lessons.

Anyways, I'm just wondering if this is normal behavior.
    Big thanks!

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Nov 6, 2019