teacher and new tattoo

Discussion in 'General Education' started by futureteach24, Aug 8, 2013.

1. futureteach24

futureteach24 Companion

Aug 8, 2013

I got an ankle tattoo this summer of the Chinese symbol for family. It's my first week back. I've been wearing pants. What are your thoughts on me wearing shorts and skirts. I've seen other staff and faculty with tattoos but I'm only a 2nd year teacher so not sure if I should chance it. I teach high school, btw.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2013

Do you have tenure?

4. BumbleB

BumbleB Habitué

Aug 8, 2013

I cover my foot tattoo with a bandaid. Not because I'm not allowed to show it, but because it is distracting to my students.

Can you cover yours with a bandaid?

5. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Aug 8, 2013

I bet no one will even notice, unless it's ginormous.

Although I don't think shorts are professional to wear in the classroom.

6. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Aug 8, 2013

We had a first year teacher ask our P what he thought about tattoos. He said he didn't care as long as they were appropriate. We ended up having two first year teachers with visible tattoos 90% of the time without issue. Do you feel comfortable talking with your P?

7. futureteach24

futureteach24 Companion

Aug 8, 2013

I don't have tenure

8. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2013

Since you don't have tenure, I think that the best course of action is to ask your administrator if it's okay. I bet that it is, especially since others have visible tattoos. Just to make sure, though, asking might be the right thing to do.

9. HistoryVA

HistoryVA Devotee

Aug 8, 2013

I'm also in HS and I've always had my ankle tattoo showing. It's a word in Arabic (so comparable to your Chinese symbol). Maybe once a month, a student would ask what it stands for, but that was all I ever heard from anyone.

10. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2013