Teach with no voice, or stay home?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ms.irene, Feb 11, 2015.

1. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Feb 11, 2015

I have been fighting a cold since last week, and now I'm losing my voice. I feel OK, not great, but my voice is getting horrible. Do you typically work with no voice, or call out if it's feasible? I have a good sub I could call for tomorrow, but we are scheduled for a counseling presentation I wanted to be part of, so I'm torn.

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Feb 11, 2015

I would still go in and find a different way to present lessons.

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Feb 11, 2015

So would I. I probably teach for anywhere between 3 and 6 days every school year with no voice.

5. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Feb 11, 2015

Does everyone tend to run into this? I've been subbing or full time teaching for about 5 years now, and have never had a day where I've lost my voice.

If I did lose my voice, I'd still go and I'd make it work. Very good real-world experience for the kids in problem solving and adjusting to the situation.

6. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Feb 11, 2015

I could teach without talking using hand motions, and prepared lessons that involved more student focused work.

But it depends on how you feel. If you don't feel up to the task, stay home.

7. nklauste

nklauste Comrade

Feb 11, 2015

I ended up losing my voice while student teaching. I still went and the kids were fantastic about being quiet and extra attentive that day.

8. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Feb 11, 2015

Thanks for the responses! I went in today and my 8th graders were wonderfully helpful and quiet. I'm feeling worse now but I still want to be there for the presentation tomorrow, and also my sub of choice can't cover me. Going to go to bed early...

9. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Feb 11, 2015