Teach in the district you graduated from

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Math, Oct 4, 2012.

1. Math

Math Cohort

Oct 4, 2012

Would you teach in a district where you graduated from? Basically, where some teachers remember you being their student?

Have you had any students return as teachers in your schoool?

3. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Oct 4, 2012

I do not teach in the district from which I graduated, but a neighboring one.

It happens a LOT in my school. Many employees of our district (including sup, admin, teachers, janitors, bus drivers) are alum. Several current teachers taught their coworkers, or even bosses.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 4, 2012

A LOT of our teachers graduated from my school.

In my department, there are currently 3, two of whom I taught. On the faculty as a whole, I probably taught about a dozen or so teachers.

My old school was closed down in about 1985.

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Oct 4, 2012

Many of the teachers in the district that I work for attended the district.

6. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Oct 4, 2012

I would love to, but the faculty in either department I would want to join typically have a terminal degree in their field. At a minimum, they must have a Master's in their content area and a strong professional reputation (publishing, presenting, etc.)

7. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Oct 4, 2012

I teach in the district where I grew up and attended school. I started teaching 12 th grade at the high school where I graduated within 5 years. Most of my former teachers were still there. My friends' brother was in one of my classes, and he and I had been in marching band together.

A good 80% of the people I work with are native to the district. The people who aren't from here often have ties to the area or live in a neighboring community.

One of my teammates was my piano teacher. Another is the child of one of my classmates. One was my student. Another married one of my students.