Tattling!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by CRD3, Aug 28, 2005.

1. CRD3

CRD3 Rookie

Aug 28, 2005

I am new to 1st grade--from third. Although, we had a little tattling, I feel there will be much more in 1st grade. Any ideas on how to deal with it?

3. karrie723

karrie723 Rookie

Aug 28, 2005

1. Draw a big ear and place it on the back wall or a door and have the kids go to the ear to tatttle.
    2. Tattling turtle- have a stuffed animal (doesn't have to be a a turtle) and have the kids tattle to the stuffed animal.
    The above should be done only after you have heard the "complaint" because if it is a legitamate (sp?) complaint you do not want it to go untreated. For example, Suzy keeps saying that Bobby is bothering her, when in fact Bobby is being a bully and has been pushing or threatening Suzy.

4. CRD3

CRD3 Rookie

Aug 28, 2005

Thanks, that is a cool idea. I have many stuffed animals. I can try that with my own kids.

5. AMK

AMK Aficionado

Aug 28, 2005

I too use a stuffed animal. It is called the tattle bear. They tell him all their stories so I don't have to hear it.

6. pateacher

pateacher Rookie

Aug 28, 2005

I did a tattle can last year. If a kid wanted to tattle on someone, they would write their tattle down and put their name on it, then put it in a can. I would check the can frequently. If it was something serious I addressed it, if not I wouldn't worry about it. It made my life so much easier. This might be a little old for first graders though. I used it with second graders. Good Luck!!

7. stef527

stef527 Rookie

Aug 28, 2005

you can make tails of different animals for the whole class and when someone tattles(something that is not a real problem) you can take their tail away. There should be some kind of incentive though for keeping your tail for the whole week.

8. CRD3

CRD3 Rookie

Aug 28, 2005

Thanks for all the good ideas--I can't wait to try them!

9. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 28, 2005