tattlers

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by kikiboniki, Oct 2, 2011.

1. kikiboniki

kikiboniki Rookie

Oct 2, 2011

So I am a substitute teacher, but this is a problem I have encountered numerous times. From when I was working day camps during my summer vacations in college, to when I was student teaching, to now, as I am subbing.
    What do you do with tattlers? My approach after a student tells me something their classmate does is usually something along the lines of "thank you so much for letting me know that", and I usually don't do anything about it. I hate that kids rat their friends out for the dumbest things.
    For example, I was subbing in a classroom for a teacher who was hard core about students pushing their chairs in, to the point where their names would be written on the board if they were not. Every five minutes or so, I'd have a student raise their hand and say "Jonny left his chair out".... it was so irritating to me. (sorry to ramble)

but where do you draw the line between a tattle that you do not deal with, to a student telling you something another kid did and you doing something about it (I hate to rely on students words when I have not seen /heard the action...)

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 2, 2011

I have to tell you: my youngest daughter has the HARDEST time differentiating between tattling and lying.

She'll tattle on one of her siblings, and we'll talk to her about tattling. Without fail, her response will be: "No, mom, I promise: it's the truth!!!"

We're at the point where we ask: "Is anyone hurt? Is anyone about to get hurt?" and leave it at that.

4. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Oct 3, 2011