tape, sticky tack question

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Starivy, Jun 27, 2006.

1. Starivy

Starivy Companion

Jun 27, 2006

What type of adhesives are you using to display posters, welcome signs, etc.. on your walls? As a first year teacher, I want to know if I should be using something besides scotch tape!

Thanks!

3. NYSTeacher

NYSTeacher Companion

Jun 27, 2006

Starivy, I'm also a first year teacher so I don't how much help my answer will be. But when I was student teaching my cooperating teacher used either fun tack, staples, or masking tape.

4. WITeach

WITeach Cohort

Jun 27, 2006

I use these white clips that have a sticky material on the back that the papers can slide into. Most teachers at my school (and most schools I've been to) use these. I'll try to remember what they are called...maybe somebody else knows what I'm talking about and can post the name! :)

5. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Jun 27, 2006

I was just going to ask this question also. It is quite humid here in Georgia and my school turns off the air conditioner at 4 pm (if it is working) and everything falls off of my walls (cinder block). After winter break, Spring Break.... half of my wall displays are on the floor. I have tried packing tape, sticky taco, and hot glue. So far hot glue works the best, but my items still fall down. Any other suggestions? I have tried those white clips (I also don't know what they are called) but it doesn't work.

6. ctopher

ctopher Comrade

Jun 27, 2006

They are called Stikki clips and we use them at my school but I HATE them. I use a combo of wide masking tape and the clips. The combo works best for me on the cement block walls.

The clips also leave a wax residue that's very hard to get off! In someplaces the stikki clips have even taken the paint off of the wall and masking tape doesn't!

7. SmartCookie

SmartCookie Comrade

Jun 27, 2006